Legrenzi: Cantatas and Canzonets for Solo Voice

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Giovanni Legrenzi
Cantatas and Canzonets for Solo Voice, Part 2
Music for Soprano (or Tenor) Voice

Edited by Albert Seay

B015 Legrenzi: Cantatas and Canzonets for Solo Voice
978-0-89579-046-0 Full Score (1972) 9x12, 109 pp.
In stock
Giovanni Legrenzi (1626–90) was most famous for his operas in his own day, though only five are known to survive, all in manuscript form.  His printed music includes the greater part of his religious music (nine collections ranging from works for instruments and chorus to motets for solo voice and basso continuo) and his shorter secular works (six collections of sonate da chiesa and da camera for two to six soloists with continuo).  The present edition is of his Cantate e Canzonette, opus 12, printed in 1676.  Twenty-four works for solo voices with continuo are included, twelve for soprano or tenor, six for alto, and six for bass.  The cantata forms used by Legrenzi in this collection are similar to short operatic scenes.  Of particular interest are the many arias which open with a secco recitative section before moving to an arioso style near the close.  A realization of the figured bass line is provided in the edition.
Cantate (for Soprano or Tenor)
Che non fa, che non può
A povero amator
Tanta fede, e dove va?
Del matin sù l'orizonte
Mia ragione, all' armi
Dalle Cimere Grotte
Sul bel mattino
Uscite pianti
Canzonette (for Soprano or Tenor)
Belle donne, io tengo un core
Mi nudrite di speranza
Non c'è che dire
V'ho inteso abbastanza
Nigel Fortune, Early Music, October 1979; Stephen Bonta, Notes, June 1980