Leonarda: Twelve Sonatas, Op. 16

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Isabella Leonarda
Twelve Sonatas, Opus 16

Edited by Stewart Carter

B113 Leonarda: Twelve Sonatas, Op. 16
978-0-89579-493-2 Full Score (2001) 9x12, x + 121 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2001)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; vc.; b.c.)
The present edition comprises the instrumental works of Isabella Leonard (1620–1703), an Ursuline nun who spent her entire adult life in a convent, the Collegio di S. Orsola, in Novara, Italy. A very prolific composer, Leonarda published nearly two hundred compositions during her long life. Most of these are sacred vocal works, but in 1693 she published her Sonate à 1.2.3. e 4. Istromenti, a collection comprising twelve sonatas, eleven for two violins, violone, and continuo, and one solo sonata for violin and continuo. These are the first sonatas published by a woman.
Sonata prima
Sonata seconda
Sonata terza
Sonata quarta
Sonata quinta
Sonata sesta
Sonata settima
Sonata ottava
Sonata nona
Sonata decima
Sonata undecima
Sonata duodecima
Peter Holman, Early Music, May 2003