Liszt: St. Stanislaus

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Franz Liszt
St. Stanislaus
Scene 1, Two Polonaises, Scene 4

Edited by Paul Munson

N026 Liszt: St. Stanislaus
978-0-89579-406-2 Full Score (1998) 9x12, xiii + 212 pp.

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Rental Parts (2011)
Set of 59 parts: 3322 4231 perc., timp., 88664 org., SATB chorus
Liszt's third oratorio was to be a life of St. Stanislaus, the eleventh-century bishop of Kraków martyred by King Boleslaus II. Liszt returned to the project repeatedly throughout the 1870s and 1880s and, at the time of his death, left completed manuscripts for nearly half the work: the first and last of four scenes. The first scene, which includes an orchestral introduction, two choruses, some recitative, and an aria for mezzo-soprano, was composed in 1874. The fourth scene, composed during the 1880s, includes an orchestral interlude on two Polish national hymns, including Jeszcze Polska nie zginela (Poland has not fallen yet), the current national anthem of Poland; a setting of "De Profundis"; and the final chorus. These last two numbers represent some of Liszt's final thoughts in the area of composition, since he worked on them in the winter of 1885–86 and submitted them to his publisher about seven weeks before he died.
Scene 1
  Orchestral Introduction
  Chorus, "Qual und Leid!"
  Recitative, "Kindlein! Was weinet ihr?"
  Chorus, "Beschütz uns"
  Aria, "Mein Sohn, o still des Volkes Not" [Piano-Vocal Score]
Two Polonaises [Piano Scores]
  Polonaise 1
  Polonaise 2
Scene 4
  Orchestral Interlude, "Salve Polonia"
  Psalm 129, "De profundis"
  Chorus, "Salve Polonia"
Jay Rosenblatt, Notes, June 2000; Bernard Holland, NY Times, 27 May 2003