My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

MacCunn: Three Overtures

Hamish MacCunn
Three Overtures
The Land of the Mountain and the Flood; The Ship o' the Fiend; The Dowie Dens o' Yarrow
Edited by Jennifer Oates
MacCunn: Three Overtures
Full Score (2010)
9x12, xvi + 141 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Rental Parts (2015)
Set of 51 parts: 2222 2231 timp., cym. 88664 errata

Rental Parts (2015)
Set of 52 parts: 2223 2230 timp., cym., b.d. 88664 errata

Rental Parts (2015)
Set of 55 parts: 2223 3231 timp., s.d., cym., b.d. 88664 errata
Hamish MacCunn (1868–1916) had his first big success with his concert overture The Land of the Mountain and the Flood, which premiered on 5 November 1887 at the Crystal Palace through the auspices of Sir George Grove (1820–1900) and under the baton of August Manns (1825–1907). A few months later, Manns introduced MacCunn’s orchestral ballad, The Ship o’ the Fiend, and The Dowie Dens o’ Yarrow premiere followed on 13 October 1888. These three overtures established MacCunn as a composer, were three of his most regularly performed works during his lifetime, and remain his most often recorded and performed works today. All three works were published around the time of their premieres, although fewer than a dozen libraries in the United States and the United Kingdom hold these scores. This edition is the first publication of any of MacCunn’s scores (not including arrangements by others) since the mid-twentieth century.
© 2019 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions