My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Mahler: Die drei Pintos, Part 1

Gustav Mahler
Die drei Pintos, Part 1
Introduction, Libretto, Act 1, Entr'act
Edited by James L. Zychowicz
Mahler: Die drei Pintos, Part 1
Full Score (2000)
9x12, lxxiii + 236 pp.

Availability: In stock

After completing Der Freischütz, Carl Maria von Weber (1786–1826) planned to compose as its comic counterpart Die drei Pintos, but he left the work unfinished at his death. Other composers, including Giacomo Meyerbeer, attempted to complete the opera, but for various reasons none succeeded. Around the time of Weber's centennial, though, Weber's grandson showed the sketches to Gustav Mahler (1860–1911), who completed the score and conducted the premiere in 1888.  Weber left sketches for only the first of three acts. In the absence of sketches for almost two-thirds of the opera, Mahler decided to rework unfamiliar and unpublished music of Weber, incorporating it into the completed score. As a work, then, the score contains music almost entirely by Weber, but as an opera, it is Mahler's conception. Moreover, Die drei Pintos is an important accomplishment of Mahler's early career, and he completed the opera several months before he finished his own First Symphony.  This critical edition contains the full score of the opera including revisions Mahler planned but never executed for the work. The publication also includes the complete libretto with English translation, an introduction, and a complete critical apparatus.
I. Aufzug
  No. 1. Ensemble (Gaston, Ambrosio, Chorus): "Leeret die Becher"
  No. 2. Rondo a la Polacca (Gaston): "Was ich dann thu'"
  No. 3. Terzettino (Gaston, Ambrosio, Der Wirth): "Ei, wer hätte das gedacht!"
  No. 4. Romanze von dem verliebten Kater Mansor (Inez): "Leise weht' es"
  No. 5. Seguidilla a dos (Inez, Gaston): "Wir, die den Musen dienen"
  No. 6. Terzett (Gaston, Ambrosio, Pinto): "Also frisch das Werk begonnen"
  No. 7. Finale (Inez, Gaston, Ambrosio, Pinto, Chorus): "Auf das Wohlergeh'n der Gäste!"
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions