Marini: Concerti, Opus 7

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Biagio Marini
Concerti, Opus 7
Chamber Works for Four to Six Voices and Instruments

Edited by Thomas D. Dunn

B196 Marini: Concerti, Opus 7
978-0-89579-861-9 Full Score (2017) 9x12, xx + 241 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2017)
Set of 7 partbooks (vn. 1, vn. 2, va. 1, va. 2, va. 3, chittarone/bassetto/vne., b.c.)
Concerti, Opus 7 is the first of three ambitious collections (opp. 7–9) dedicated between 1624 and 1626 by Biagio Marini (1594–1663). Together they represent a watershed in his career: an ambitious tackling of multiple musical genres and an uncommon industriousness in producing a large, almost encyclopedic body of music. Opus 7 comprises thirteen works: seven for four to six voices and continuo, and six that include additional instrumental parts, whether optional (nos. 8 and 10) or obbligato (nos. 7, 11–13).  Nos. 11–13 also share the structural feature of being based either on an ostinato (the romanesca) or dance form (gagliarda and corrente). Compared with Marini’s Madrigali et symfonie (1618), this collection demonstrates that, in the space of only a few years, the composer had made enormous strides in his handling of four or more voices and instruments.
Instrumental parts are available as a separate purchase (B196P). Digital print and paper offprint products are also available for this title.
Concerti per le musiche di camera, Opus 7
  1. Credete ’l voi, che non sentite amore
  2. Donna, mi chiami infido
  3. Ridon le piagge
  4. Tu pur partisti, o Cintia
  5. Addio, begli occhi
  6. Ahi, Filli amata e bella
  7. Non lagrimar, fanciullo
  8. Deh, come ancor farei dolce dimora
  9. O dolcissime voci
10. Ecco, o Cintia mia bella
11. La bella Erminia, sconsolata amante
12. Tirinto mio, tu me feristi
13. Crudel, tu vuoi partire