Marsh: Symphonies, Part 1

Series: Classical Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
This volume is part of the set Marsh: Symphonies
Click for samples
John Marsh
Symphonies, Part 1
The Salisbury and Canterbury Symphonies (1778–1784)

Edited by Ian Graham-Jones

C062 Marsh: Symphonies, Part 1
978-0-89579-486-4 Full Score (2001) 9x12, xvii + 255 pp.
Special Price $112.00 Regular Price $140.00

Performance Parts

Rental Parts (2011)
Set of 20 parts: 0202 2000 timp 33421

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 16 Parts: 0200 2000 33222

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 16 parts: 0200 2000 33222

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 16 parts: 0200 2000 33222

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 16 parts: 0200 2000 33222

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 18 parts: 1200 2000 33422
John Marsh (1752–1828) was perhaps the most prolific English composer of his time. His own catalog of compositions records over 350 works, of which he lists thirty-nine symphonies. Of these, only the nine that Marsh had printed are extant, together with three one-movement finales. Marsh was a lawyer by training and a gentleman of varied interests, and his thirty-seven volumes of journals, now published in an abridged edition by Pendragon Press, are among the most valuable sources of information on life and music in eighteenth-century England. The symphonies here published represent the varied styles that Marsh utilized in writing for the musicians in the cities where he worked. “Although not masterpieces of the highest class, Marsh’s symphonies have such charm that their neglect seems inexcusable” (Richard Gorer, Grove, 5th ed.).
The Salisbury Symphonies
Symphony No. 8 [9] in G Major (1778)
     I. Allegro
    II. Andante
   III. Allegro
A Conversation Symphony for Two Orchestras [No. 10] in E-flat Major (1778)
     I. Allegro maestoso
    II. Andante
   III. Allegretto
Symphony No. 2 [12] in B-flat Major (1780)
     I. Allegro
    II. Largo 8 in a bar
   III. Allegro spirituoso
Symphony No. 1 [13] in B-flat Major (1781)
     I. Allegro
    II. Andante
   III. Chasse: Allegro
The Canterbury Symphonies
Symphony No. 5 [16] in E-flat Major (1783)
     I. Largo staccatto
    II. Allegro moderato
   III. Minuetto; Allegro spirituoso
Symphony No. 3 [17] in D Major (1784)
     I. Allegro
    II. Andante
   III. Presto
<div>Ann Van Allen-Russell, Eighteenth-Century Music, 2004. &nbsp;Early Music Review, May 2002; Peter Holman, Early Music, May 2002; Jürgen Schaarwächter, Die Musikforschung, April 2003; Ann Van Allen-Russell, Eighteenth-Century Music, 2004</