My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Marsh: Symphonies, Part 2

John Marsh
Symphonies, Part 2
The Chichester Symphonies and Finales (1788–1801)
Edited by Ian Graham-Jones
Marsh: Symphonies, Part 2
Full Score (2001)
9x12, xiv + 213 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Rental Parts (2012)
Set of 17 parts: 0202 2000 33221

Rental Parts (2012)
Set of 19 parts: 1201 2000 33421

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 31 parts: 1202 2200 timp. 66431 errata

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 31 parts: 1202 2200 timp. 1; timp. 2; 66431

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 30 parts: 1202 2200 timp. 66431

Rental Parts (2014)
Set of 30 parts: 2202 2200 timp. 66431
John Marsh (1752–1828) was perhaps the most prolific English composer of his time. His own catalog of compositions records over 350 works, of which he lists thirty-nine symphonies. Of these, only the nine that Marsh had printed are extant, together with three one-movement finales. Marsh was a lawyer by training and a gentleman of varied interests, and his thirty-seven volumes of journals, now published in an abridged edition by Pendragon Press, are among the most valuable sources of information on life and music in eighteenth-century England. The symphonies here published represent the varied styles that Marsh utilized in writing for the musicians in the cities where he worked. “Although not masterpieces of the highest class, Marsh’s symphonies have such charm that their neglect seems inexcusable” (Richard Gorer, Grove, 5th ed.).
The Chichester Symphonies
Symphony No. 4 [19] in F Major (1788)
     I. Allegro
    II. Larghetto
   III. Minuetto
   IV. Allegro
Symphony No. 7 [24] in E-flat Major (La Chasse) (1790)
     I. Andante (The hunter’s call in the morning)
    II. Allegretto (Setting out from home; the fox discover’d)
   III. Allegro (Chasse)
Symphony No. 6 [27] in D Major (1796)
     I. Largo maestoso; Allegro spiritoso
    II. Andante
   III. Minuetto: Allegro
   IV. Allegro scherzando
The Finales
Finale No. 3 in E-flat Major (1799)
   Andante; Allegro
Finale No. 1 in D Major (1800)
Finale No. 2 in B-flat Major (1801)
   Maestoso; Trio
Early Music Review, May 2002; Peter Holman, Early Music, May 2002; Ann Van Allen-Russell, Eighteenth-Century Music, 2004
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions