Music for Macbeth

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection Eccles: Works
Click for samples
Music for Macbeth

Edited by Amanda Eubanks Winkler

B133 Music for Macbeth
978-0-89579-547-2 Full Score (2004) 9x12, xx + 103 pp.

Performance Parts

Rental Parts (2004)
Set of 11 parts: 0000 0000 serp. 33220
Within a few years of the Restoration of the Stuart monarchy in 1660, impresario and playwright William Davenant revised William Shakespeare's Macbeth to suit the tastes of his music-hungry audience, adding lavish singing and dancing scenes for the witches. This critical edition brings together the few remaining pieces from a setting of Macbeth dating from the mid-1660s, possibly by Matthew Locke, as well as a late-seventeenth-century setting by John Eccles, and an early-eighteenth-century one by Richard Leveridge. The last proved immensely popular and audiences into the nineteenth century were enchanted by the dramatically effective music for the singing and dancing witches. This volume will appeal to modern theater companies hoping to recapture the witches' magic, as well as to historians of English music and drama.
Tunes for Macbeth Attributed to Matthew Locke
1a.  Let’s Have a Dance
1b.  The Witches Dance
John Eccles, Music for Macbeth
2a. Act [2] Symphony
2b.  Speak, Sister, Speak
2c.  Let’s Have a Dance
2d.  Hecate! Oh, Come Away
2e. Act 4 Symphony
2f.  Black Spirits and White
Richard Leveridge, Music for Macbeth
3a. [Act 2] Symphony
3b.  Speak, Sister, Speak
3c.  Let’s Have a Dance
3d. Act [2] Tune
3e. Symphony at the Descending of the Machine in the Third Act
3f.  Hecate! Come Away
3g. [Act 4] Symphony
3h.  Black Spirits and White
Mark Humphreys, Early Music, August 2005.