Music from Little House on the Prairie

Series: Other Publications  Publisher: A-R Editions, American Musicological Society
This edition is part of the collection Laura's Music
Click for samples
Music from Little House on the Prairie

Edited by Dale Cockrell

LM002 Music from Little House on the Prairie
978-0-89579-748-3 Full Score (2012) 9x12, iv + 38 pp.
In stock
In her famous Little House series of eight books Laura Ingalls Wilder (1867–1957) loosely traces her family’s history through episodes located in Wisconsin, Kansas, Minnesota, and South Dakota over a period from 1867 to 1885. Embedded in the stories are references to 127 separate songs and tunes. Surely, few if any books in American literature of comparable standing and popularity feature America’s common, vernacular music so centrally, assign it such a major narrative role, and index it in such rich abundance.
This songbook contains all the pieces mentioned in Little House on the Prairie.
The Arkansas Traveler
The Battle Cry of Freedom
The Blue Juniata
Bye, Baby Bunting
Daisy Deane
The Devil’s Dream
Dixie’s Land
The Gipsy King
Green Grows the Laurel
The Gum Tree Canoe
The Happy Land
The Irish Washerwoman
Money Musk
Old Dan Tucker
Old John Brown
Pease Porridge Hot
Roll On Silver Moon