My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Underscore - The AR Blog

Items 11 to 15 of 46 total
Results per page:

Looking Past the Scottishness: William McGibbon’s Sonatas

Wednesday, December 11, 2019 9:00:00 AM America/Chicago

By Elizabeth C. Ford

William McGibbon (1695–1756) was once described to me as the best-known Scottish composer no one had ever heard of; I believe that’s a reasonably accurate assessment. When I first encountered his name in David Johnson’s monograph Music and Society in Lowland Scotland in the Eighteenth Century, I was left with the impression that his music had faded into well-deserved obscurity. At the same time, I noted that Henry George Farmer in A History of Music in Scotland (1947) spoke highly of McGibbon’s flute duets (published around 1748), though most musicians I spoke to only knew of McGibbon’s collections of Scottish tunes and the one trio sonata of his that has been published a few times in “greatest hits” collections (no. 5 from his set of 1734, headed “In Imitation of Corelli”). I knew that this wasn’t quite good enough for my studies on the flute in eighteenth-century Scotland, so I wanted to see what the rest of his music was like, and if he deserved the reputation he had. This edition is the result.

Read More
1 Comments | Posted in Featured Publications By A-R Editions

Page Counts and Dollar Amounts: What is Value in Music Publishing?

Wednesday, November 6, 2019 3:00:00 PM America/Chicago

By Alexander Dean

The cost of each A-R edition is figured very finely, even down to hours per page, at each stage of the editing and production process, and the editions are priced as low as possible while still allowing the company to stay in business.

Our editorial department comprises Ph.D. musicologists who deal with difficult but necessary copyediting tasks: shepherding the creation of something as complex as a historical edition of music requires full-time, trained employees. The work that comes our way is high quality, presented to us by leaders in the field, representing artistic and scholarly creations that could be of lasting benefit to society, and A-R’s editorial department ensures that the editions we produce will fulfill that promise.

Read More
0 Comments | Posted in Insider Information By A-R Editions

Talk to A-R at AMS

Wednesday, October 23, 2019 9:00:00 AM America/Chicago

The A-R editorial team will soon depart for the 2019 meeting of the American Musicological Society. While information for prospective authors can be found on our website, we all know that ideas are sparked and developed in conversation, and we look forward to having many in Boston. See you soon!

Read More
Comments | Posted in News By A-R Editions

Music, Spectacle, and Politics at the Court of Catherine the Great

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 3:00:00 PM America/Chicago

By Bella Brover-Lubovsky

Catherine the Great (1729–96), Empress of All the Russias, was neither a devoted music lover nor a musical connoisseur. However, she assigned exceptional importance to dramatic performances that extolled her reign and policies, with a particular passion for spectacles based on her own literary production. Among these, Catherine especially favored the grandiose pageant Nachal’noe upravlenie Olega (The Early Reign of Oleg), based on one of her three historical plays elaborating on events from the history of ancient Rus. The music for Oleg, furnished collaboratively by composers from Catherine’s court, features choruses, instrumental entr’actes, and a melodrama based on a scene from Euripides’s Alceste. Staged during the Second Russo-Turkish War (1787–91) at both the Hermitage court theater and the public Kamenny Theater, the play praised Catherine as a worthy successor to one of the greatest early sovereigns of Rus. Its performance involved 800 persons in total: a variety of native and foreign actors and musicians, the court chapel singers, and extras from three military regiments.

Read More
Comments | Posted in Featured Publications By A-R Editions

Word Processing Tips for A-R Authors

Wednesday, September 11, 2019 3:00:00 PM America/Chicago

By Esther Criscuola de Laix

Congratulations, you’ve got your A-R contract in hand! This means you are probably working busily away at one or more portions of your text apparatus as outlined in our guidelines for Manuscript and Disk Preparation: table of contents, acknowledgments, introduction, critical report, and, if applicable, tables, captions, and a “Texts and Translations” section. Here are a few simple tips for using your word processor to prepare a clean, readable text apparatus that will be a joy to work with for both editor and typesetter.

Read More
Comments | Posted in Editor's Workbench By A-R Editions
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions