Notari: Collected Works, Part 3

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
This volume is part of the set Notari: Collected Works
Click for samples
Angelo Notari
Collected Works, Part 3
Notari’s Manuscript Scorebook, Nos. 61–86

Edited by Jonathan P. Wainwright

B232 Notari: Collected Works, Part 3
978-1-9872-0808-5 Full Score (2022) 9x12, xxx + 212 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2022)
Set of 6 partbooks (vn./vn. 1, vn. 2, va. 1, va. 2, b. viol, b.)
These volumes bring together, for the first time in a critical edition, the complete music of Angelo Notari (1566/1573–1663), an Italian musician who worked in England from 1611. An important aspect of this edition is the inclusion of a large corpus of works newly attributed to Notari. This music appears in two surviving manuscripts (a score book and a fragmentary set of parts) copied by Notari and a set of manuscript parts copied by a London associate, Stephen Bing. The sources are examined in detail, and the reasoning for the attributions is made clear. The edition also includes a number of arrangements of music by other composers that appear in the Notari manuscripts; these range from ornamented versions and variant readings to reworkings that together represent the full gamut of compositional practice in the late sixteenth century and in the first half of the seventeenth century.
Music from Notari’s Manuscript Scorebook (GB-Lbl Add. MS 31440), Nos. 61–86
61. A la caccia pastori (C, lute, B.c.)
62. Tollite jugum (CCC, B.c.)
63. Surgamus, eamus, et descendamus (CCT, B.c.)
64. Jesu Rex admirabilis (CCCt, B.c.)
65. Il crudo Amore assale atterra (Battaglia amorosa a 3 voci; CCB, B.c.)
66. Canite tuba in Sion (CCCt, B.c.)
67. O Domine Jesu Christe (CCB, B.c.)
68. Deus canticum novum cantabo tibi (CCCt, B.c.)
69. O panis mellifluus (CC, violin, B.c.)
70. Splendea qual vivo sole (Dialogo a cinque voci; CCCtTB, B.c.)
71. Ancor che col partire, after Cipriano de Rore (divisions on four-voice madrigal; B, violin, B.c.)
72. Io rido, io rido amanti (CCB, B.c.)
73. Da le piume amorosetta (CCB, B.c.)
74. Son si avvezzo alle pene (CCCtTB)
75. Anima mea angelorum pane saturata est (CCCtT, B.c.)
76. O donna, un solo amante (CCCtTB)
77. Io ti disfido ai baci (CCCtTB)
78. O pretiosum, et admirabile sacramentum (CCCtT, B.c.)
79. Sancta, et venerabilis hostia (CC, 2 violins, B.c.)
80. Venio ad te (CCT, violin, B.c.)
81. Apollinaris incliti (CC, 2 violins, B.c.)
82. Crudelissima Dori (CCtTB, B.c.)
83. O sguardo incauto ladro (CCtTB, B.c.)
84. Vedo la donna mia (CCtB, B.c.)
85. Hoc tegitur sacro quisnam velamine?, after Giovanni Gabrieli (arrangement of eight-voice motet; CCT, B.c.)
86. Non nobis Domine (canon a 120)
1. Ancor che col partire, Cipriano de Rore