Piani: Sonatas for Violin

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Giovanni Antonio Piani
Sonatas for Violin Solo and Violoncello with Cembalo

Edited by Barbara Garvey Jackson

B020 Piani: Sonatas for Violin
978-0-89579-058-3 Full Score (1975) 9x12, xii + 122 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts

Instrumental Part(s) (1975)
Set of 1 part (vn.)
Piani's twelve violin sonatas (Paris, 1712) contain some of the first known published indications of crescendo, diminuendo, and messa di voce. This delightful music—comprising Piani's only extant works—contains the composer's detailed and informative markings of dynamics, bowing, and fingering.
Sonata I in G Minor
Sonata II in E Minor
Sonata III in F Major
Sonata IV in G Major
Sonata V in B-flat Major
Sonata VI in G Major
Sonata VII in C Minor
Sonata VIII in B Minor
Sonata IX in A Minor
Sonata X in D Major
Sonata XI in E-flat Major
Sonata XII in A Major
Sonya Monosoff, Early Music, July 1980; Simon McVeigh, Music & Letters