Music of the United States of America

Mark Clague and Amy Beal, co-editors-in-chief 
Andrew Kuster, executive editor

Music of the United States of America (MUSA) is a national series of scholarly editions that seeks to reflect the character and diversity of American music making. Published as a set within the Recent Researches in American Music series, MUSA is a joint venture with the American Musicological Society (AMS).

The criteria foremost in determining the contents of MUSA have been that the series as a whole reflect breadth and balance among eras, genres, composers, and performance media; that the series avoid music already available through other channels (duplicating only where new editions of available music seem essential); and that works in the series be representative, chosen to reflect particular excellence or to represent notable achievements in this country's highly varied music history. Volume editors introduce their editions with an essay designed to be an important original contribution to the scholarly literature.

MUSA is a uniquely collaborative venture. Established in 1988, it is published by A-R Editions, Inc., under the auspices of the AMS and supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities. MUSA is housed at the University of Michigan School of Music. Planned to encompass forty volumes, MUSA is designed and overseen by the AMS's Committee on the Publication of American Music (COPAM). In addition the Society for American Music provides advice on the contents of MUSA through a representative to COPAM.

For more information on the MUSA project, see the MUSA web page.

Looking for Recent Researches in Music Online
Please visit

Items 21 to 30 of 61 total
Set Descending Direction
  1. $45.00
  2. American Victorian Choral Music
    Full Score | MU14/A053
  3. Buck: The Forty-Sixth Psalm, Op. 57 (PV)
    Keyboard-Vocal Score | MU14P1/A053P1
  4. Buck: The Centennial Meditation of Columbia
    Keyboard-Vocal Score | MU14P2/A053P2
  5. Buck: The Forty-sixth Psalm (RENTAL)
    Rental Parts | MU14R1/A053R1
  6. $96.00
  7. $138.00
  8. Michael: The Named Partitas (PARTS)
    Instrumental Part(s) | MU16P1/A059P1
  9. Michael: Partitas 7–9, 13–14 (PARTS)
    Instrumental Part(s) | MU16P2/A059P2