My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Beach: Quartet for Strings, Op. 89

  • Series: American Music  Publisher: A-R Editions, American Musicological Society
Amy Beach
Quartet for Strings (in One Movement), Opus 89
Edited by Adrienne Fried Block
Beach: Quartet for Strings, Op. 89
Full Score (1994)
9x12, xxxii + 58 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (2000)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; va.; vc.)
Recognized as America's leading woman composer in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, Amy Beach (1867–1944) belonged to the Second New England School of composers. Her one-movement Quartet for Strings, opus 89, a lean yet lyrical work of great originality, incorporates Alaskan Inuit melodies as thematic material. Completed in 1929, the Quartet was one of Beach's few unpublished works. This edition, which includes a facsimile of the 1921 draft score, makes the work available for the first time. Winner of the MPA Paul Revere Award, 1995.
Victor Fell Yellin, Notes, June 1996
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions