My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Harrison: Selected Keyboard and Chamber Music, 1937–1994

  • Series: American Music  Publisher: A-R Editions, American Musicological Society
Lou Harrison
Selected Keyboard and Chamber Music, 1937–1994
Edited by Leta E. Miller
Harrison: Selected Keyboard and Chamber Music, 1937–1994
Full Score (1998)
9x12, lv + 162 pp.

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $99.00

Sale Price $79.20


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (1998)
Set of 3 parts (fl./picc.; va. 1, 2; harp)

Regular Price: $4.00

Sale Price $3.20

Instrumental Part(s) (1998)
Set of 2 parts (vn.; perc.)

Regular Price: $6.00

Sale Price $4.80

Instrumental Part(s) (1998)
Part (vn.)

Regular Price: $8.00

Sale Price $6.40

This collection presents seven works by Lou Harrison for keyboard solo or chamber ensemble spanning more than fifty years. The prefatory essay explores, through the lens of these works, the sources of Harrison's syncretic style: percussion, East Asian music, gamelan, medieval music, the French baroque, melody, tuning systems, instrument building, and politics. Interwoven biographical material is based on the author's research for her recent study of Harrison's life and works and draws on archival materials and also nearly seventy-five interviews with Harrison and colleagues who have worked with him during the past half century. The edition was prepared with the full cooperation and assistance of the composer.
France 1917–Spain 1937 (two percussionists and string quartet)
Tributes to Charon (percussion trio)
  I. Passage through Darkness
  II. Counterdance in the Spring
Praises for Michael the Archangel (organ solo)
Vestiunt Silve (soprano, flute/piccolo, two violas, and harp)
Incidental Music for Corneille's 'Cinna' (Suite for Tack Piano) (upright piano with tacks inserted into felts)
  I. Medium fast
  II. Slow
  III. Fast
  IV. Medium slow
  V. Grand
Varied Trio (violin, piano, and percussion)
  I. Gending
  II. Bowl bells
  III. Elegy
  IV. Rondeau, in honor of Fragonard
  V. Dance
Grand Duo (violin and piano)
  I. Prelude
  II. Stampede
  III. A Round (Annabel & April's)
  IV. Air
  V. Polka
David Nicholls, Notes, March 2000; Carol Oja, ISAM Newsletter, Fall 1999
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions