Telemann: Forty-Eight Chorale Preludes

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Georg Philipp Telemann
Forty-Eight Chorale Preludes

Edited by Alan Thaler

B002 Telemann: Forty-Eight Chorale Preludes
978-0-89579-002-6 Full Score (1965) 9x12, 101 pp.
In stock

Digital Print

Georg Philipp Telemann probably composed this collection of chorale preludes in 1731, around the same time as his XX Kleine Fugen. With the exception of "Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend," which is set four times, each melody is set first  in three parts with a cantus firmus and then in two parts. The works are both pleasant to hear and easy to perform—making them ideal pieces for teaching or last-minute performance.
Vater unser im Himmelreich (2 settings)
Allein Gott in der Höh sei Her (2 settings)
Komm, Heiliger Geist, Herre Gott (2 settings)
Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend (4 settings)
Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele (2 settings)
Straf mich nicht in deinem Zorn (2 settings)
O wir armen Sünder (2 settings)
Alle Menschen müssen sterben (2 settings)
O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig (2 settings)
Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (2 settings)
Ach Herr, mich armen Sünder (2 settings)
Christus, der uns selig macht (2 settings)
Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt (2 settings)
Christ lag in Todesbanden (2 settings)
Erscheinen ist der herrlich Tag (2 settings)
Herr Christ, der einig Gotts Sohn (2 settings)
Jesu, meine Freude (2 settings)
Was mein Gott will, das g'scheh allzeit (2 settings)
Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern (2 settings)
Gott der Vater wohn uns bei (2 settings)
Ach Gott, vom Himmel sieh darein (2 settings)
Wer weiss, wie nahe mir mein Ende (2 settings)
Nun danket alle Gott (2 settings)
Edward R. Reilly, Notes, December 1967.