My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Nanino: Fourteen Liturgical Works

Giovanni Maria Nanino
Fourteen Liturgical Works
Edited by Richard J. Schuler
Nanino: Fourteen Liturgical Works
Full Score (1969)
8.5x11, xi + 84 pp.

Availability: In stock

Giovanni Maria Nanino (1545–1607) spent his entire life in the service of the various musical  cappelle of the basilicas and churches of Rome. He succeeded Palestrina as maestro di cappella at S. Maria Maggiore in 1567, and in 1577 he became a member of the papal choir. Nanino's musical style was not a personal one, but the style of a whole group of Roman composers who wrote in the manner endorsed by the Council of Trent.
Hodie Christus natus est
Adoramus te, Christe
Ecce odor filii mei
Gavisi sunt discipuli
Qui vult venire post me
Hodie nobis caelorum Rex
Quem vidistis, pastores?
In diademate capitis
Nos autem gloriari oportet
Audi, benigne conditor
Decora lux
Beatus vir
Cantate Domino canticum novum
Domine, quis habitabit
John Caldwell, Music & Letters, April 1970.
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions