My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Czerny: Preludes and Fugues for Organ

Carl Czerny
Preludes and Fugues for Organ
Edited by Iain Quinn
Czerny: Preludes and Fugues for Organ
Full Score (2011)
8.5x11, xiv + 38 pp.

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $26.00

Sale Price $20.80

The son of an organist, Carl Czerny’s understanding of the instrument is thorough and his works for organ—largely in miniature, but also containing the large-scale Prelude and Fugue in A minor, op. 607—offer today's musician a pedagogical and practical entree to this often-neglected period in organ literature.
The introductory essays shed particular light on the relationship between Czerny and his English publisher, Robert Cocks and Co., and the reception of Czerny’s organ works in England. The essay further discusses the English attraction to the Germanic style during the Victorian age, the development of the organ in mid-nineteenth-century England, and the ability of Czerny and Cocks to appeal to a musical society rapt with the "king of instruments."
Six Preludes and Fugues for Piano or Organ, Op. 603
  No. 1 in C Major
  No. 2 in B-flat Major
  No. 3 in A Minor
  No. 4 in D Major
  No. 5 in E-flat Major
  No. 6 in D Minor
Prelude and Fugue in A Minor for Organ with Obbligato Pedal, Op. 607
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions