Quagliati: Il primo libro de’ madrigali a quattro voci

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Paolo Quagliati
Il primo libro de’ madrigali a quattro voci

Edited by Judith Cohen

B079 Quagliati: Il primo libro de’ madrigali a quattro voci
978-0-89579-339-3 Full Score (1996) 9x12, xxii + 110 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Supplement: Keyboard-Vocal Score

Keyboard-Vocal Score (1996)
vi + 82 pp.
Quagliati's Libro primo de' madrigali (1608) is a unique attempt within the madrigal literature around the turn of the seventeenth century to suggest to singers two equally valid options of performance, presented in two distinct sets of music: a four-part version, printed in four separate part books, and its reduction to a version for solo voice, printed together with basso continuo in a separate "partitura." This edition follows the composer's original concept, presenting the four-part madrigals in one volume and the solo-voice version in a separate supplement. Though often discussed by musicologists, Quagliati's madrigals have never appeared in a modern edition. This publication will thus enable performers and scholars to evaluate this "double-edged" enterprise both by its inherent musical qualities and as a musical document of the early seicento.
I lieti amanti (Sannazaro)
Erano i capei d'oro (Petrarch)
Uditi, amanti (Guarini)
O primavera (Guarini)
O dolcezze amarissimi d'Amore! (Guarini)
Io morirò d'Amore (Guarini)
Ch'io non t'ami (Guarini)
Come cantar poss'io (Guarini)
Come havra vit', Amor
Hoggi nacqui, ben mio (Guarini)
Ahi chi mi rompe il sonno! (Veniero)
I tuoi capelli (Sannazaro)
Io vò cantar
Questo e l'esempio, amanti
Deggio dunque partire
O, quante volte in van (Guarini)
Felice chi vi mira (Guarini)
Posso, cor mio, partire
O bellezza gentile
<div>MPA Paul Revere Award, 1997</div>

<div>Rose Mauro, Notes, December 1999</div>