Rabl: Complete Instrumental Chamber Works

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Walter Rabl
Complete Instrumental Chamber Works

Edited by John F. Strauss, Virginia F. Strauss

N024 Rabl: Complete Instrumental Chamber Works
978-0-89579-332-4 Full Score (1996) 9x12, xiv + 179 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts

Instrumental Part(s) (1996)
Set of 3 parts (cl.; vn.; vc.)
Walter Rabl (1873–1940) wrote large-scale works that recall the vanishing golden age of Viennese romanticism. He began as a disciple of Johannes Brahms and moved gradually into the camp of Richard Wagner. The present edition includes his quartet for piano, violin, clarinet (or viola), and violoncello, opus 1, which won first prize in 1896 in a prestigious competition for young composers for which Brahms was a judge. Also included are the Fantasiestücke, opus 2, and the sonata for piano and violin, opus 6. This edition brings to light three works of a virtually forgotten composer who in his day was recognized for his excellence in composition not only by Brahms but by critics and audiences alike. Winner of the MPA Paul Revere Award, 1997.
Quartet, Op. 1 for piano, violin, clarinet (or viola), and violoncello
Fantasiestucke, Op. 2 for piano, violin, and violoncello
Sonata, Op. 6 for piano and violin
Appendix 1: Viola Part for the Quartet, Op. 1