Ries: Three String Quartets, Op. 150

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection String Quartets in Beethoven's Europe
Click for samples
Ferdinand Ries
Three String Quartets, Op. 150

Edited by Allan Badley

N086 Ries: Three String Quartets, Op. 150
978-1-9872-0830-6 Full Score (2022) 9x12, xiv + 174 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2022)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1, vn. 2, va., vc.)
Though often remembered primarily for his published recollections about his famous teacher Beethoven, Ferdinand Ries (1784–1838) was an accomplished composer in his own right. Among his many works are twenty-seven string quartets composed between the years of 1795 and 1834. His Three String Quartets, Op. 150, first published by Nikolaus Simrock in Bonn in 1828, evince his considerable imagination and skill. While these quartets borrow elements from the then-popular quatuor brillant style, Ries’s careful attention to motivic organization and polyphonic writing elevates these works to a higher level of artistic sophistication. While technically brilliant writing for the first violin remains at the forefront in Quartet no. 3, Quartets nos. 1 and 2 reveal more complex formal processes and better integration of their virtuosic first violin parts. In this volume, Quartets nos. 1 and 3 have been carefully edited based on the composer’s autographs, while Quartet no. 2, the autograph of which is now lost, is based on the original Simrock print.
Three String Quartets, Op. 150
String Quartet No. 1 in A Minor
I. Allegro con spirito
II. Andante con moto, cantabile
III. Scherzo: Allegro non troppo
IV. Finale: Allegro
String Quartet No. 2 in E Minor
I. Allegro
II. Andante con variazioni: Cantabile
III. Scherzo: Allegro vivace
IV. Finale: Allegro agitato
String Quartet No. 3 in G Minor
I. Larghetto quasi andante—Allegro moderato
II. Larghetto con moto
III. Menuetto: Allegretto moderato
IV. Allegretto ma non troppo
Allan Badley’s research work lies at the intersection of historical musicology, source studies, and editing. A specialist in late eighteenth-century Viennese music, his publications include several hundred scholarly editions of works by major contemporaries of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven. Among the most important of these are his editions of the complete works for piano and orchestra by Ferdinand Ries, mass settings by Vanhal and Hummel, and an extensive series of symphonies, concertos, and chamber works. Recent publications include “Leopold Hofmann – ‘Sechs Konzerte für Tasteninstrument’” (Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich, Bd.161), “Storace’s Collection of Original Harpsichord Music as a Harbinger of Modernity” (Haydn – The Online Journal of the Haydn Society of North America, Fall, 2018), and “Viable Texts or Reliable Texts? The Earliest Editions of Pleyel’s String Quintets” (Fontes Artis Musicæ, Vol. 69, no. 2). He has also published articles on Hofmann, Vanhal, and Haydn.
Badley co-founded the Hong Kong-based publishing house Artaria Editions in 1995 as an affiliate of Naxos for whom he also acts as an area repertoire advisor. He is Associate Professor in Musicology at the University of Auckland, New Zealand.