Ritter: Six Quartets for Bassoon and Strings, Op. 1

Series: Classical Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Georg Wenzel Ritter
Six Quartets for Bassoon and Strings, Opus 1

Edited by Daniel G. Lipori

C055 Ritter: Six Quartets for Bassoon and Strings, Op. 1
978-0-89579-432-1 Full Score (1999) 9x12, ix + 84 pp.
Special Price $37.60 Regular Price $47.00
In stock

Performance Parts

Instrumental Part(s) (1999)
Set of 4 parts (bn.; vn.; va.; vc.)
George Wenzel Ritter (1748–1808) was a bassoonist at the Mannheim court and was known throughout Europe as a virtuoso player. Many composers wrote bassoon parts in their own works with Ritter in mind, and Ritter himself composed for the instrument. His quartets for bassoon and strings show the technical level at which he operated and which rivaled that of the flute and string instruments. Very little chamber music for bassoon is known to survive from the eighteenth century, since the instrument was often relegated to accompaniments. Ritter's quartets show the bassoon of that period in a different light. This edition presents Ritter's quartets for the first time in a modern edition, a welcome contribution to the chamber music repertoire as well as to the repertoire for bassoon.
Quartet No. 1 in C Major
Quartet No. 2 in F Major
  Allegro non tanto
  Tempo di Minuetto
Quartet No. 3 in B-flat Major
Quartet No. 4 in E-flat Major
  Rondo gracioso—Allegro
Quartet No. 5 in G Major
Quartet No. 6 in F Major
  Allegro moderato
  Tempo di Minuetto