Romberg: Three String Quartets, Op. 2

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection String Quartets in Beethoven's Europe
Click for samples
Andreas Romberg
Three String Quartets, Op. 2

Edited by W. Dean Sutcliffe

N089 Romberg: Three String Quartets, Op. 2
978-1-9872-0840-5 Full Score (2023) 9x12, xv + 163 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts

Instrumental Part(s) (2023)
Set of 4 partbooks (vn. 1, vn. 2, va. vc.)
The German composer and violin virtuoso Andreas Romberg (1767–1821) wrote extensively for the string quartet beginning in the 1790s. His earliest forays into the genre were greeted with enthusiastic approval from Joseph Haydn, to whom Romberg dedicated his Three String Quartets, Op. 2, composed between 1797 and 1799 and first published in 1802. Featuring extensive employment of contrapuntal writing and flexible handling of musical function, these quartets reveal Romberg to be a masterful and imaginative composer deserving of rediscovery. The original notation in these quartets has been carefully edited in this volume to encourage modern performers to exercise freedom in their interpretation of ornamentation, dynamics, and articulation. This edition is based on the composer’s autographs of Quartets nos. 1 and 3 and the original Simrock print of Quartet no. 2, the autograph of which is now lost.
Three String Quartets, Op. 2
String Quartet No. 1 in E Major
I. Allegro
II. Minuetto: Allegretto
III. Larghetto con espressione
IV. Finale: Allegretto
String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor
I. Allegro
II. Minuetto: Allegretto
III. Andante
IV. Finale: Allegro
String Quartet No. 3 in B-flat Major
I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Minuetto: Vivace
IV. Finale: Tempo giusto
W. Dean Sutcliffe is Professor in the School of Music at the University of Auckland, and has been co-editor of Eighteenth-Century Music since its inception in 2004. His research interests focus on the eighteenth century, with publications covering composers such as Domenico Scarlatti, Gyrowetz, Boccherini, Mozart, Andreas Romberg, Sebastián de Albero, and, above all, Haydn. He was awarded the Dent Medal for 2009 by the Royal Musical Association. Recent publications include an edition of the Three String Quartets, op. 42, by Gyrowetz (Ann Arbor: Steglein, 2017), the entry “Musical Materials” in The Cambridge Haydn Encyclopedia (Cambridge University Press, 2019), the chapter “Gracious Beethoven?” in Beethoven Studies 4 (Cambridge University Press, 2020), the chapter “Counterpoint without Anxiety? Andreas Romberg’s String Quartets Op. 2, Dedicated to Haydn” in String Quartets in Beethoven’s Europe (Boston: Academic Studies Press, 2022), and the book Instrumental Music in an Age of Sociability: Haydn, Mozart and Friends (Cambridge University Press, 2020), which was awarded the Marjorie Weston Emerson Prize by the Mozart Society of North America.