Music Publications
[Order Form]
[Name Index]
[Classified Index]
A-R Home
Digital Audio
Production Services
Guest Book
E-Mail A-R

Recent Researches in the Music of the Classical Era

Johann Vanhal
Six Symphonies Edited by Paul Bryan
ISBN 0-89579-200-1 (1985) xxi+88 pp. $46.00
  ISBN 978-0-89579-200-6 (13-digit)  
C17P Parts (ob. 1, 2; hn. 1, 2 [in F, B-flat]; hn. 1, 2 [in D]; vn. 1; vn. 2; va.; b.) Out of print
ISBN 0-89579-201-X (1985) 128 pp. $54.00
  ISBN 978-0-89579-201-3 (13-digit)  
C18P Parts (ob. 1, 2; hn. 1, 2; fl./vc. solo; tpt. 1, 2; timp.; vn. 1; vn. 2; va.; bn./vc.; vc.; b.) Out of print

Performance parts are available for rental: C17R and C18R

Vanhal has long been acknowledged as one of the leading composers of symphonies in the late 1760s and 1770s. His early style and some of the ways it evolved may be observed in the six symphonies selected for these volumes. Saint-Foix, who referred to Vanhal's "inspiration" as "often very curiously romantic," believed one of these works, the Symphony in D Minor, to have influenced the young Mozart.

Music Sample (C17) Music Sample (C18)

Part I (C 17)
Symphony in F Major (F3); Symphony in G Minor (g2); Symphony in D Minor (d1)

Part II (C 18) Symphony in A Major (A2); Symphony in E Minor (e2); Symphony in D Major (D4)