Music Publications
[Order Form]
[Name Index]
[Classified Index]
A-R Home
Digital Audio
Production Services
Guest Book
E-Mail A-R

Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries

Victorian Music for the English Concertina
Edited by Allan Atlas
N52 ISBN 0-89579-652-3 (2009) xxii + 179 pp.
  ISBN 978-0-89579-652-3 (13-digit)    
N52P1 Parts (concertina; vc.; hp.) [for all works in this edition, except those by Molique (N52P2); Blagrove (N52P3); and Regondi (N2P4)]   $18.00
N52P2 Part (tr. concertina) [for Molique's Sonata, Op. 57]   $7.00
N52P3 Parts (tr. concertina; bar. concertina) [for Blagrove's Duo Concertante from Les Huguenots of Meyerbeer]   $7.00
N52P4 Parts (tr.concertina 1, 2; bar. concertina; b. concertina) [for Regondi's arrangement of the Finale from Symphony No. 38 by Mozart] . $12.00

Developed by the physicist Charles Wheatstone around 1830, the English concertina was extremely popular in art-music circles of Victorian England until late in the nineteenth century. This edition includes fifteen works that present a cross section of the instrument’s concert and salon repertories, and includes music by the "mainstream" composers George Alexander Macfarren, Julius Benedict, and Bernhard Molique, as well as original compositions by such concertina virtuosos as Giulio Regondi and Richard Blagrove. There are also pieces by two little-known women composers/arrangers, Hannah Rampton Binfield and Rosina King (the instrument was particularly popular with women), and an arrangement by George Case of a well-known hymn tune, which shows how the baritone concertina was used in small parish churches. Finally, there are two works for concertina ensembles, a duo for treble and baritone concertina by Blagrove and a transcription by Regondi for concertina quartet of the final movement of Mozart’s Symphony No. 38 "Prague."


1. Violetta, a Romance George Alexander Macfarren
2. Andantino, Julius Benedict
3. Sonata, Op. 57 Bernhard Molique
4. Introduction with Variations and Coda on “The Last Rose of Summer”
Joseph Warren
5. Les Oiseaux, Morceau de Concert, Op. 12
Giulio Regondi
6. 6. When in the Dark Midnight (Überall Du), Op. 17
Ignaz Lachner, arr. Giulio Regondi
7. Souvenirs de Donizetti Richard Blagrove
8. The Marvellous Work, from The Creation of Haydn arr. Hannah Rampton Binfield
9. Nocturne John C. Ward
10. Thou Art Gone From My Gaze George Linley, arr. Giulio Regondi
11. Exercise for the Management of the Bellows No. 6 Giulio Regondi
12. Original Melody No. 1 Rosina King
13. Devizes Isaac Tucker, arr. George Case
14. Duo Concertante, from Les Huguenots of Meyerbeer arr. Richard Blagrove
15. Finale from Symphony No. 38 in D Major, “Prague,” of Mozart arr. Giulio Regondi