Ruffo: Seven Masses, Part 2

Series: Renaissance  Publisher: A-R Editions
This volume is part of the set Ruffo: Seven Masses
Click for samples
Vincenzo Ruffo
Seven Masses, Part 2
Four Later Masses

Edited by Lewis Lockwood

R033 Ruffo: Seven Masses, Part 2
978-0-89579-120-7 Full Score (1979) 8.5x11, 118 pp.
In stock
The early masses, from printed collections of 1542 and 1557, reveal Ruffo's command of contrapuntal techniques and traditions; two of these works are based on motets by Richafort and Jacquet of Mantua. The four later masses, written in the 1560s and 1570s, were composed under the direct influence of the Counter Reformation and exhibit drastic changes in procedure aimed at achieving an "intelligible" style.
Missa Quarti toni
Missa Octavi toni
Missa de De profundis
Missa Sanctissimae Trinitatis
Jerome Roche, Early Music; Philip T. Jackson, Notes, December 1983