Scarlatti, A.: Selected Sacred Music

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Alessandro Scarlatti
Selected Sacred Music

Edited by Luca Della Libera

B181 Scarlatti, A.: Selected Sacred Music
978-0-89579-742-1 Full Score (2012) 9x12, xvi + 116 pp.
In stock
These four sacred works by Alessandro Scarlatti display stylistic traits which, on the one hand, are derived from those of Palestrina and, on the other hand, show a particular attention to advanced expressive techniques. Although they are conservative in their scoring, being either a cappella or for voices with continuo, Scarlatti augments that basic texture with more heterogenous styles, especially in the Missa defunctorum and the Magnificat setting. This critical edition enriches our acquaintance with this repertoire, which has been too little explored by scholars and musicians.
Salve Regina
Missa defunctorum
  Introit: “Requiem aeternam dona eis Domine”
  Gradual: “Requiem aeternam—Absolve, Domine”
  Sequence: “Dies irae, dies illa”
  Offertory: “Domine Jesu Christe”
  Agnus Dei
  Communion: “Lux aeterna”