Scarlatti: Concerti sacri, opera seconda

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Alessandro Scarlatti
Concerti sacri, opera seconda

Edited by Luca Della Libera

B153 Scarlatti: Concerti sacri, opera seconda
978-0-89579-641-7 Full Score (2008) 9x12, xxvii + 244 pp.
Special Price $144.00 Regular Price $180.00
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2008)
Set of 3 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; b.c.)
Special Price $48.80 Regular Price $61.00
The importance of the Concerti sacri—printed by Estienne Roger in Amsterdam, 1707–8—is due among other things to the fact that it is one of the few editions of Scarlatti’s music that appeared during his lifetime. This splendid collection contains nine mottetti, written for from one to four voices, two violins, and basso continuo, with most of the arias following the da capo model; in addition there is a Salve Regina for four voices, two violins, and basso continuo. For this edition the Roger print has been supplemented by a source hitherto considered lost: the tenor and bass parts of Mottetti sacri by Scarlatti, printed in Naples in 1702 and preserved in the Archivio Capitolare della Cattedrale di Aosta, Italy. For the Salve Regina, a manuscript preserved in Brussels has been consulted. The author has also found archival documents in Naples, dated 1697 and 1702, regarding the Mottetti sacri. These new findings make it possible to establish that Scarlatti composed this music during the period in which he was director of the Real Cappella in Naples.
Rorate caeli (Canto solo con violini)
1. Rorate caeli (Aria)
2. Hodie beata Francisci anima (Recitativo)
3. Amare et non videre (Aria)
4. Manum suam aperuit inopi (Recitativo)
5. In altis habitat (Aria)
6. Suspirando aeternas delitias (Aria)
Jam sole clarior (Canto solo con violini)
1. Jam sole clarior (Aria)
2. Hic magnus ille Nicolaus (Recitativo)
3. Inter undas fluctuantes (Aria)
4. Novus iste defensor veritatis (Recitativo)
5. Et forti animo (Aria)
Infirmata, vulnerata (Alto solo con violini)
1. Infirmata, vulnerata (Aria)
2. O care, o dulcis amor! (Recitativo)
3. Vulnera, percute (Aria)
4. Cur, quaeso, crudelis (Aria)
5. Vicisti amor (Recitativo)
6. Semper gratus (Aria)
Totus amore languens (Alto solo con violini)
1. Totus amore languens (Aria)
2. Epulare, delectare (Aria)
3. Quid hoc caelesti ardore (Recitativo)
4. Non mannae dulcedo (Aria)
5. Ite procul, o dapes mundanae (Aria)
6. Eia ergo o anima mea (Aria)
Mortales, non auditis? (Canto e Alto con violini)
1. Mortales, non auditis? (Aria a due)
2. Eia surgite (Aria per canto)
3. Ut quid ergo torpentes (Recitativo per alto)
4. Aurae, venti (Aria per alto)
5. O quam formosa aurora (Recitativo per canto)
6. Auroram sic raram (Aria per canto)
7. Mortales, non auditis? (Aria a due)
Quae est ista (Canto, Alto, Tenore con violini)
1. Quae est ista (Recitativo per alto)
2. Haec est aurora (Aria a tre)
3. Unde formae tam bellae (Recitativo per canto)
4. Hanc auroram conflagrans ardore (Aria per canto)
5. Procul quaeso torpores (Recitativo per tenore)
6. O nimis clara lux (Aria per tenore)
7. Quis tuam decantabit claritatem (Recitativo per alto)
8. Ave lactea, sine macula (Aria a tre)
Diligam te, Domine (Canto, Alto, Tenore con violini)
1. Diligam te, Domine (Aria a tre)
2. Cantabo Domino (Aria per canto)
3. Benedicam Dominum (Aria per alto)
4. Exaltabo te, Domine (Aria per tenore)
5. Domine Deus (Aria a tre)
Properate fideles (Canto, Alto, Tenore, Basso con violini)
1. Properate fideles (Aria a quattro)
2. O quam dulces liquores (Recitativo per canto)
3. Quot odores et sapores (Aria per canto)
4. Ad rivulos amoris (Aria per alto e tenore)
5. O fluida vita (Aria per alto e tenore)
6. Sitientes venite (Aria per basso)
7. Qui puro semper corde (Aria a quattro)
Est dies trophei (Canto, Alto, Tenore, Basso con violini)
Salve Regina (Canto, Alto, Tenore, Basso con violini)