Smyth: Serenade in D Major for Orchestra

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
This volume is part of the set Smyth: Serenade in D Major for Orchestra
Click for samples
Ethel Smyth
Serenade in D Major for Orchestra

Edited by John L. Snyder

N084 Smyth: Serenade in D Major for Orchestra
978-1-9872-0630-2 Full Score (2021) 9x12, xxiv + 190 pp.

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Rental Parts (2022)
2222 (fl. 2 doubles on picc.) 3200 timp. 88664
Ethel Smyth’s first orchestral work, the Serenade in D Major for Orchestra, was composed in 1889 (and possibly early 1890) and was premiered at a Crystal Palace concert on 26 April 1890. The work was received well by the audience and garnered positive notices in the press. This critical edition is based on a photocopy of the autograph manuscript, now in the Royal College of Music Library, with reference also to a fair copy of the score, now in the British Library. The extensive critical notes document the changes made by the composer, as well as editorial and performance suggestions made by both the composer and August Manns, who conducted the premiere performance.
Serenade in D Major for Orchestra
  I. Allegro non troppo
 II. Scherzo: Allegro vivace
III. Allegretto grazioso
IV. Finale: Allegro con brio
John L. Snyder is Professor of Music Theory and Musicology at the University of Houston Moores School of Music. He has published—and presented papers at regional, national, and international meetings and symposia—on research in several areas, particularly medieval music theory and the music of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor.