Thomas: Arrangements for Small Orchestra, Part 3

Series: A-R Special Publications  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection Thomas: Arrangements for Small Orchestra
Click for samples
Theodore Thomas
Arrangements for Small Orchestra, Part 3
Sonata in E Major by J. S. Bach

Edited by Paul Luongo

S037 Thomas: Arrangements for Small Orchestra, Part 3
978-0-89579-781-0 Full Score (2013) 8.5x11, ix + 85 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Orchestral Parts (2013)
Set of 39 parts: 3222 4200 timp. 66443
Theodore Thomas (1835–1905) was one of the most influential figures in the development of the American orchestra. Through approximately three decades of touring his orchestra across the country and laying the foundations for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Thomas left behind an indelible imprint on the American musical landscape. Thomas's orchestral arrangements were integral to his popularity with American audiences, who wanted accessibility in their music yet sought to validate their cultural sophistication alongside that of Europe. By representing Europe's most venerable composers in his arrangements, Thomas found a formula by which he could entertain his audiences while nevertheless encouraging their aspirations toward high culture.
I. Adagio
II. Allegro
III. Adagio ma non tanto
IV. Allegro