Tomkins: Thirteen Anthems

Series: Renaissance  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Thomas Tomkins
Thirteen Anthems

Edited by Robert W. Cavanaugh

R004 Tomkins: Thirteen Anthems
978-0-89579-006-4 Full Score (1968) 8.5x11, xvi + 81 pp.
In stock
Thomas Tomkins was one of the last notable musical figures of the Tudor era. The thirteen English-language sacred works presented here—including settings of the seven penitential psalms, full anthems, and verse anthems—are taken from the posthumous collection Musica Deo sacra (1668), published by his son Nathaniel, and they combine the expressiveness of the late Tudor vocal style with the harmonic artifice of the emerging Italianate baroque.
The Seven Penitential Psalms
O Lord, rebuke me not in thine anger
Blessed is he whose unrighteousness is forgiven
Put me not to rebuke, O Lord
Have mercy upon me, O God
Hear my prayer, O Lord
Out of the deep have I called unto thee, O Lord
Hear my prayer, O Lord
Full Anthems
O Lord, how manifold are thy works
Why art thou so full of heaviness O my soul!
Who shall ascend the hill of God?
O praise the Lord all ye heathen
Verse Anthems
Behold I bring you glad tydings
Thou art my King, O God
Edwin B. Warren, Notes, December 1969.