Vanhal: String Quartet in C Major, Op. 33, No. 1

  Publisher: Greenway Music Press
Johann Baptist Vanhal
String Quartet in C Major, Op. 33, No. 1

Edited by David C. Birchler

GMP006 Vanhal: String Quartet in C Major, Op. 33, No. 1
979-0-58039-005-9 Score + Part(s) (2016) 8.5x11, Score: iv + 27 pp.; 4 parts
Special Price $40.00 Regular Price $50.00
In stock
Johann Baptist Vanhal (1739–1813) was one of the most prolific composers of the string quartet during the last third of the eighteenth century, with David Wyn Jones authenticating over fifty of the quartets that appeared under Vanhal’s name. The six quartets of opus 33, published in 1785, were among his late works in the genre.
String Quartet No. 1 in C Major, in four movements, opens with a sonata-form movement, Allegro moderato, which, according to Jones, features through its modulations “Vanhal’s most wayward development section” in all of his quartets. The binary dance movement that follows presents a minuet and trio that are titled “Arietta I” and “Arietta II,” respectively. An Adagio and Allegro round out the work, the latter of which, according to Jones, being “particularly noteworthy in its use of triple counterpoint and fugal technique.”
The present edition includes a short preface, statement of editorial methods, and critical notes and offers the quartet in a study score along with performance parts. It is based on the copy of the original Artaria parts held by The British Library, London.
I. Allegro moderato
II. Arietta I – II
III. Adagio
IV. Allegro