Vanhal: String Quartet in G Major, Op. 33, No. 5

  Publisher: Greenway Music Press
Johann Baptist Vanhal
String Quartet in G Major, Op. 33, No. 5

Edited by David C. Birchler

GMP010 Vanhal: String Quartet in G Major, Op. 33, No. 5
979-0-58039-009-7 Score + Part(s) (2017) 8.5x11, Score: v + 26 pp.; 4 parts
In stock
Johann Baptist Vanhal (1739–1813) was one of the most prolific composers of the string quartet during the last third of the eighteenth century, with David Wyn Jones authenticating over fifty of the quartets that appeared under Vanhal’s name. The six quartets of opus 33, published in 1785, were among his late works in the genre.
The opening Allegro moderato of String Quartet No. 5 in G Major has a sprightly main theme that is announced with aplomb by double and triple stops in the violins each time it appears. The binary dance movement that follows presents a minuet and trio that are titled “Arietta I” and “Arietta II,” respectively. In the third movement, Adagio, the first violin is accorded special prominence given the pizzicato accompaniment of the other parts. The Allegro finale is in sonata form and could be called “monothematic” in that the first theme returns to open the second theme group; it also exhibits Vanhal’s penchant for wide downward leaps in the first violin, the last of which covers three octaves and a fourth.
The present edition includes a short preface, statement of editorial methods, and critical notes and offers the quartet in a study score along with performance parts. It is based on the copy of the original Artaria parts held by The British Library, London.
I. Allegro moderato
II. Arietta I – II: Tempo moderato
III. Adagio
IV. Allegro