Weiss: Two String Quartets, Op. 8 ("Razumovsky")

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection String Quartets in Beethoven's Europe
Click for samples
Franz Weiss
Two String Quartets, Op. 8 ("Razumovsky")

Edited by Mark Ferraguto

N090 Weiss: Two String Quartets, Op. 8 ("Razumovsky")
978-1-9872-0842-9 Full Score (2023) 9x12, xviii + 219 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2023)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1, vn. 2, va., vc.)
Franz Weiss (1778–1830) is best known today for his role as the violist of the Schuppanzigh Quartet, the ensemble that first brought Beethoven’s string quartets into the limelight. He was also, however, a celebrated composer in his own right, one whose “ingenious compositions, related to Beethoven’s spirit, have long received the loudest and most deserved approval both at home and abroad.” This volume features Weiss’s most ambitious chamber work: a pair of string quartets dedicated to the Russian diplomat and quartet enthusiast Count Andrey Razumovsky. First published in 1814, Weiss’s long-forgotten “Razumovsky” quartets are significant both as creative responses to Beethoven’s quartets and as explorative forays into the “public connoisseur quartet,” a subgenre that crystallized in Vienna between 1800 and 1830.
Two String Quartets, Op. 8
String Quartet No. 1 in G Major
I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Andante
III. Menuetto: Allegro
IV. Finale: Allegro
String Quartet No. 2 in C Minor
I. Allegro agitato
II. Adagio
III. Scherzo: Allegro
IV. Finale: Allegro
Mark Ferraguto is Associate Professor of Musicology at Pennsylvania State University. The author of Beethoven 1806 (Oxford University Press, 2019), he has published widely on the music, culture, and politics of eighteenth- and early nineteenth-century Europe. His recent work includes contributions to The Cambridge Companion to The Magic Flute (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming), Beethoven in Context (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming), The String Quartet in Beethoven’s Europe (Boston: Academic Studies Press, 2022), The Cambridge Companion to the Eroica Symphony (Cambridge University Press, 2020), The Cambridge Haydn Encyclopedia (Cambridge University Press, 2019), and International Relations, Music, and Diplomacy: Sounds and Voices on the International Stage (London: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018). With Rebekah Ahrendt and Damien Mahiet, he co-edited the multidisciplinary volume Music and Diplomacy from the Early Modern Era to the Present (London: Palgrave Macmillan, 2014). He has received grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the German Academic Exchange Service, and the American Musicological Society.