My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Widor: Symphonie gothique

Charles-Marie Widor
Symphonie gothique
Edited by John R. Near
Widor: Symphonie gothique
Full Score (1996)
9x12, xvii + 45 pp.

Availability: In stock

Charles-Marie Widor turned to plainchant for melodic material in his last two organ symphonies, beginning with the Symphonie gothique, opus 70 (1895). The introduction to this edition includes an essay on the Symphonie gothique, an accounting of its first performances, a detailed discussion of its sources, a statement of editorial policies, and information about Widor's registrations. With the Symphonie gothique, in four movements, Widor sought to instill an unequivocal sacred character into his organ music. The Christmas Day introit "Puer natus est" is introduced toward the middle of the third movement, and the fourth movement is entirely given over to the development of the plainsong melody in a theme, five variations (three of which are canonic), and a free-style finale.
I. Moderato
II. Andante sostenuto
III. Allegro
IV. Moderato
<div>MPA Paul Revere Award, 1996</div>


<div>Rollin Smith, The American Organist, February 1997; Magazine Orgue, Oct–Nov 2000</div>
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions