My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Widor: Symphonie V

Charles-Marie Widor
Symphonie V in F Minor
Edited by John R. Near
Widor: Symphonie V
Full Score (2007)
9x12, xix + 59 pp.

Availability: In stock

Charles-Marie Widor continued to develop the genre of the organ symphony in his second set of four works, published as Symphonies pour orgue, opus 42 (1878–87). The introduction to this edition of Widor's Symphonie V includes a list of the sources, a statement of editorial policies, and information about Widor's registrations. Symphonie V in F Minor seems to have been one of Widor's favorites, as he often performed it complete. The work is in five movements, including the famous Toccata finale. Had Widor composed no other organ music, this symphony alone would have assured him a permanent place in the repertoire.
I. Allegro vivace
II. Allegro cantabile
III. Andantino quasi allegretto
IV. Adagio
V. Toccata: Allegro
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions