My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Widor: Symphonie VI

Charles-Marie Widor
Symphonie VI in G Minor
Edited by John R. Near
Widor: Symphonie VI
Full Score (1993)
9x12, xvii + 61 pp.

Availability: In stock

Charles-Marie Widor continued to develop the genre of the organ symphony in his second set of four works, published as Symphonies pour orgue, opus 42 (1878–87). The introduction to this edition of Widor's Symphonie VI includes a list of the sources, a statement of editorial policies, and information about Widor's registrations. Symphonie VI in G Minor, in five movements, was actually composed before Symphonie V; both works share a concern for architectural symmetry in their fast–slow–fast–slow–fast movement scheme. The first movement of Symphonie VI, a theme and variations, has in particular attracted the attention of organists, maintaining an exceptional degree of grandeur and nobility throughout. Also included in this edition are four appendices containing selected principal variants from the first and third movements.
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Intermezzo: Allegro
IV. Cantabile
V. Finale: Vivace
Appendix 1: I. Edition A, Versions B/B and C/D, Mm. 123–31
Appendix 2: III. Intermezzo. Edition A, Mm. 81–100, 253–73
Appendix 3: III. Intermezzo. Edition B, Mm. 81–100, 253–73
Appendix 4: III. Intermezzo. Version C/D, Mm. 87–96, 259–68
Rollin Smith, The American Organist, June 1994
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions