My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Widor: Symphonie VII

Charles-Marie Widor
Symphonie VII in A Minor
Edited by John R. Near
Widor: Symphonie VII
Full Score (1994)
9x12, xvii + 85 pp.

Availability: In stock

Charles-Marie Widor continued to develop the genre of the organ symphony in his second set of four works, published as Symphonies pour orgue, opus 42 (1878–87). The introduction to this edition of Widor's Symphonie VII includes a list of the sources, a statement of editorial policies, and information about Widor's registrations. Symphonie VII in A Minor, in six movements, advances a new, more complex musical language for the organ, one that demands much from both listener and performer. Also included in this edition are six appendices containing selected principal variants, with the original versions of the fourth and fifth movements.
I. Moderato
II. Choral: Andante
III. Andante
IV. Allegro ma non troppo
V. Lento
VI. Finale: Allegro vivace
Appendix 1: I. Editions B and B, Mm. 160–68. Emend-1 sketch, Mm. 161–68
Appendix 2: IV. VersionB/B
Appendix 3: IV. Edition C, Mm. 108–32
Appendix 4: V. Editions B and B
Appendix 5: V. Edition C, Mm. 38–50
Appendix 6: VI. Finale. Version B/B, Mm. 235–305
Rollin Smith, The American Organist, June 1994; Sven Hiemke, Die Musikforschung, February 1995
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions